

2010.02.08

German Companies in Japan strengthen Industry-Academia Partnership through German Innovation Award 2009

- 1st prize granted to Dr. Yuuji Kimura (41) from The National Institute for Materials Science
- Joint project by 12 German companies, the German Chamber of Commerce and Industry in Japan and the German Academic Exchange Service to support young Japanese scientists
- Commemorative speech by Nobel Laureate Prof. Dr. Peter Grünberg

Tokyo, February 8 – Launched last year by twelve technology-focused German companies and the German Chamber of Commerce and Industry in Japan, the German Innovation Award supports young scientists in Japan. The four winners of the Gottfried Wagener Prize 2009 have been announced today.

The 1st prize was granted to **Dr. Yuuji Kimura** (41) and his team from The National Institute for Materials Science for highly important results in the development of stronger and tougher steel at low temperatures. Dr. Kimura's team was awarded with prize money worth 4 million Yen and a sponsorship by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) for a 2-months stay at a German research institution or university of their choice in Germany.

The award ceremony took place today at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Tokyo. In his commemorative speech, 2007 Nobel Prize laureate Prof. Dr. Peter Grünberg congratulated the winners on their achievements.

A total of 63 applications from 34 Japanese universities and research institutes went into the evaluation process for the **Gottfried Wagener Prize 2009.** Researchers were encouraged to submit research work in the areas of Environment & Energy, Healthcare, and Safety & Security. The prize is awarded for application-orientated research work that proposes solutions in the fields of automotive, chemicals, electronics, medical equipment, biotechnology, manufacturing, energy generation, urban infrastructure and related fields.

After pre-selection by technical experts of the awarding companies, a Jury composed of a standing committee and expert members and chaired by **Prof. Dr. Masuo Aizawa**, Executive Member of the Council for Science and Technology Policy and former President of Tokyo Institute of Technology, evaluated and selected the awardees.

Named *Gottfried Wagener Prize* after a German researcher who contributed to Japanese science in the Meiji Period, the **German Innovation Award** is granted under the patronage of **Dr. Annette Schavan**, German Federal Minister of Education and Research.

In its second year, the **German Innovation Award** is living up to its promise to foster industry-academia collaboration between Japan and Germany. First year winners have used their grants to visit partner companies, universities, and research institutes in Germany, thus contributing to further strengthen scientific-industrial relations between both nations.



2010.02.08

2/2

Winners of the Gottfried Wagener Prize 2009

1st Prize	Dr. Yuuji Kimura (41) National Institute for Materials Science, Structural Metals Center Development of stronger and tougher steel at low temperatures
	Team members: Dr. Tadanobu Inoue (41), National Institute for Materials Science Dr. Fuxing Yin (44), National Institute for Materials Science
2 nd Prize	Dr. Takafumi Fukushima (34) Tohoku University Surface-tension-powered chip self-assembly technology for three-dimensional IC fabrication
3 rd Prizes	Dr. Tadahisa Iwata (43) The University of Tokyo High functionality of biodegradable microbial polyesters
	Dr. Masuo Kondoh (40) Osaka University Development of a novel mucosal vaccine using a Claudin binder
Jury members	Besides the chairman Prof. Dr. Masuo Aizawa , Executive Member of the Council for Science and Technology Policy and former President of Tokyo Institute of Technology, the jury consists of five permanent members: Prof. Dr. Hans-Jörg Bullinger , President of Fraunhofer Society, Prof. Dr. Junichi Hamada , President of the University of Tokyo, Prof. Dr. Teruo Kishi , Former President of National Institute for Materials Science, Prof. Dr. Hiroshi Matsumoto , President of Kyoto Universitiy, Prof. Dr. Katsuhiko Shirai , President of Waseda University.
Partner companies	The German Innovation Award is a project sponsored and supported by twelve German private companies, in alphabetical order: BASF Japan Ltd., Bayer Ltd., Bosch Corporation, Mercedes-Benz Japan Co., Ltd., Evonik Degussa Japan Co., Ltd., Henkel Japan Ltd., Merck Ltd., Münchner Rückversicherungs-Gesellschaft AG, SCHOTT Nippon K.K., Siemens K.K., TRUMPF Corporation and TÜV Rheinland Japan Ltd.
Contact	German Innovation Award Secretariat c/o German Chamber of Commerce and Industry in Japan Regine Dieth / Pascal Gudorf Sanbancho KS Bldg., Sanbancho 2-4, Chiyoda-kuTokyo 102-0075 Tel: 03 5276 8827 info@german-innovation-award.jp

www.german-innovation-award.jp